Move over Law Ticket Cost Alabama

b. If the driver is driving on a two-lane highway, the driver must move as far as possible from law enforcement vehicles, emergency vehicles, wreckers, supply vehicles, flashing lights or garbage, garbage, garbage or recycling collection vehicles in his lane and slow down 15 miles per hour from the indicated speed limit if the specified speed limit is 25 miles per hour or more, or 10 miles per hour if the specified speed limit is 20 miles per hour or less, unless otherwise directed by an enforcement officer. In Pelham, Alabama, police are planning to strengthen enforcement of Alabama`s Move Over Act after finding that too many drivers are ignoring the law. The Pelham Police Captain has released his plan to keep an eye on public vehicles stopped on the side of the road to ensure other drivers are following the law and are safe. It is up to the police to decide how they enforce the law, when to issue warnings and when to write speeding tickets. Protect yourself and others by always moving and/or slowing down for every vehicle stopped in Alabama. BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (WBRC) – If you don`t “move,” it will cost you more! After 60 days, the first violation will cost you $100, $150 for the second and $200 for the third or all subsequent violations. On the highway which is 15 miles below the speed limit. HB 158, signed into law by Governor Kay Ivey on April 4, 2018, will add provisions for vehicles parked on or along a street with flashing lights or vehicles performing official duties along a highway. It will aim to ensure the safety of everyone on the road, not just law enforcement, emergency or commercial vehicles. Ordinary motorists who use private cars that break down, have to change a tire or have to stop off the road now also benefit from the protection of the Travel Act. It also means that police can name drivers who don`t move or slow down for a parked vehicle. “If it is not safe to travel, the driver must slow down at least 15 miles per hour below the specified speed… On a two-lane highway, other drivers must move as far away as possible from the vehicle stopped in the lane and slow down to a speed of at least 15 miles per hour if the speed limit is 25 miles per hour or more. The maximum speed increases to 10 miles per hour if the specified speed limit is less than 20.

Violating Alabama law can result in a misdemeanor punishable by a $25 fine. A second violation carries a $50 fine and a third or subsequent offence costs $100. The Travel Act does not exempt emergency vehicle drivers from driving out of consideration for other drivers. One. If you are driving on a highway or other highway with two or more lanes towards the police vehicle, emergency vehicle, wrecker, supply vehicle, vehicle with flashing lights or garbage, garbage, garbage or recycling collection vehicle, the driver must leave the lane belonging to the police vehicle, emergency vehicle, wrecker, supply vehicle, flashing light vehicle or garbage truck, Garbage, garbage or recycling collection vehicle, unless otherwise directed by a law enforcement officer.  If it is not safe to travel, the driver must slow down at least 15 miles per hour below the indicated speed limit, unless otherwise instructed by an enforcement officer. Alabama`s Move Over Act is something every driver in the state should understand before hitting the road. Section 32-5A-58.2 of the Alabama Code establishes the law that requires all motorists to cross one or more lanes for law enforcement vehicles stopped whenever possible. Drivers must also change to other stopped vehicles. Failure to comply with the state`s Move Over Act can result in fines and penalties — or worse if you hit a parked vehicle or person. Here`s what you need to know to stay within the bounds of the law. Fines for Alabama`s passage through the law increased on Sunday, Sept.

1. The law requires drivers to cross a lane if they see something like a police car, ambulance, tow truck or even a garbage truck parked on the side of the road while staff are doing their jobs. One of the most dangerous places for police, state troops, rescue workers and maintenance personnel is located on the side of the road. Hundreds of people are injured or killed each year by motorists while working along the country`s highways. Alabama`s Move Over Act requires you to cross safely if you see flashing lights on the side of the road. And if you can`t move, slow down! Drive Safe Alabama reports that the most common cause of death by law enforcement is traffic accidents. To reduce these incidents, Alabama law states that if certain vehicles have driven on the side of the road or are parked on the side of the road, all other drivers (once it is safe) must leave the lane closest to the stopped vehicle when driving in the same direction on a highway with two or more lanes. The driver must reduce his speed to at least 15 miles below the specified speed limit if it is not safe to leave the lane, unless a law enforcement officer decides otherwise.

Vehicles that require a change of other drivers are: Slow down to a reasonable speed given existing weather and road conditions. The Alabama Travel Act states that: If an emergency vehicle using a visual signal is stopped or parked on or next to a road, drivers approaching the emergency vehicle must (1) change lanes to an available lane that is not immediately adjacent to the emergency vehicle; or (2) if you are unable to change lanes safely, slow to a reasonable speed given existing weather, road, vehicle or pedestrian traffic. Key factors to consider with the Alabama Move Over Act include: (2) A violation of this subsection is an offense punishable by a fine of twenty-five dollars ($25).  For a second violation of this subsection, the fine is fifty dollars ($50).  For a third or subsequent offence, the fine is one hundred dollars ($100). Move! Avoid an accident on the side of the road if you see flashing lights. (a) This section is called the Alabama Move Over Act. “It`s something we take personally because, as you know, last year we had several soldiers and police on the side of the road,” said Corporal Steve Smith of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency.

(c) (1) The Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency shall conduct an education campaign to inform motor vehicles of this section.  The Agency shall provide information on this section in all newly printed driving licence training materials after 1 January 2010. The advance warning period runs from September 1 to October 30, and during this period, soldiers and other law enforcement agencies will only issue warnings for this violation for the first 60 days. The Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency added information about the Alabama Move Out Act to all newly printed driver`s license training materials starting in January 2010 so that young drivers would be fully aware of it. Driving too close to stopped vehicles, law enforcement officers and others standing on the side of the road is extremely dangerous. Alabama lawmakers decided it`s time to end that danger by creating a space between moving vehicles and vehicles parked on the side of the road. Now they will push the Move Over Act a step further. The legislature created House Bill 158 in January 2018 to extend the law to any vehicle on or along the road. Drive carefully and watch out for pedestrians or vehicles on the side of the road.

Effective September 1, 2019, an amendment was made to increase fines for violating the Alabama Move Over Act. The fines are: (1) $100 for a first offence; (2) $150 for a second offence; and (3) $200 for a third or subsequent violation.